Ain’t Y’all Precious

Did the title make anybody’s grammar senses twitch?

I’m sorry.

I’m not sorry.

But guess what?!  I’ve been nominated for the Blogger Recognition Award.  Three times!

blogger-recognition-award-simply-megan-joy-blog.png

By the awesome Emily at Holden Down the Fort, a stay at home, southern, Christian momma.  I feel like we would be friends.  We could sit around shucking corn and talking about cloth diapers and birthing positions.

By the sweet Megan Joy from Simply Megan Joy, a Jesus lover with beautiful old fashioned charm and an artsy flair.  Your blog is so dreamy and delicate and just perfectly lovely!

And also by Jessica at Inspire the Mom, a Godly momma into the hippie ways of life.  I love your practical DIYs and words of inspiration.  Your blog title is spot on!

Thank you so much!

It’s so awesome to know that people not only read your blog, but actually maybe kinda little bit enjoy it!


How was this blog born?

Lowcountry Hippie is the result of years of failed blogging attempts.  LiveJournal, anybody?  XANGA?!  I’ve been all over the place and blogged all sorts of blogs.  I was inconsistent, haphazard, and generally a hot mess.  After not blogging at all for a couple years, I felt the urge creeping back into my fingertips.  Being a more confident mother and having a more definite picture of who I am as a person and who I strive to be…I created this blog!

A place to share what I’ve learned throughout my motherhood stint so far.  A place to encourage others in their walk towards a greener, healthier life.  A place to let out all my “crunchy” ideas without being overtly judged as a crazy person.

New bloggers, here’s my (amateur) advice.

Know your blog’s purpose.  I’ve had far too many blogs go to waste because I used them as a personal diary instead of a blog.  There IS a difference.  Journaling online is a great thing, but it can severely limit your readersphere.  However, allow yourself a broad theme.  A blog about cloth diapers sounds *amazing,* but it doesn’t leave you any room to talk about that awesome new kitchen project you’re working on.

Nextly, let your topics come to you naturally and spend some time mulling them over.  Keep a list of possible posts and write out a rough draft or two.  Ponder it, read about it, discuss it.  Let it develop into a fully rounded post rather than forcing a few paragraphs based on a small bit of information.

I’m nominating these blogs!

For those nominated, here are the rules for this award.  Keep the love going!

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  2. Write a post to show your award.
  3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  5. Select (up to 15) other bloggers for this award.
  6. Comment on each blog to let them know you nominated them and provide a link to the post you created.

Our Oily Homestead

A blog about (but not limited to!) chickens, oils, and yummy stuff.

Savvy Schooling

Tons of interesting homeschool posts with some extra encouragements thrown in.

The Young Mummy Confessions

All the raw thoughts we think as mommas put into words.

MOMtessori Life

Amazing Montessori themed activities and inspiration for the littles.

Grace & Motherhood

Motherhood, Christian womanhood, and recipes.

Happy blogging!

11 thoughts on “Ain’t Y’all Precious

  1. I was taught this saying: “Ain’t ain’t a word ‘cuz it ain’t in the dictionary.” Don’t suppose that idea holds much weight anymore.

    I agree about your new blogger advice. Years ago I was asked a similar question, and being a bit more snarky I said that: 1) you have to have a thesis statement; & you have to have a personality that you’re not afraid to use. You said these ideas much more politely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

