An Enemy in Disguise. CONTAINERS. 

Who in their right mind doesn’t love a good container? A sturdy, cute basket. A tub with a lid that locks shut with a satisfying snap

Them crayons ain’t going nowhere

Laundry baskets, mason jars, makeup bags, diaper bags, hand bags, totes, plastic drawers, sandwich bags, Tupperware, toy boxes, jewelry boxes, tea boxes, shelves and more shelves.

These containers whisper to us, knowing we yearn for organization.

“Let me tidy up that bathroom cabinet for you.”

“You know what would fix that junk drawer? Seven tiny baskets!”

“Laundry will be quicker with this ergonomic tote.”

“I can slide under the bed and hide so much stuff.”

CLICK TIGHT LIES AND STACKABLE DECEPTION.

This epiphany came to me as I was kick-pushing two giant, rope handled buckets across my living room. These were originally purchased to be used as toy bins, but since minimizing our toy stash, they’ve turned into impromptu reflex and balance obstacle course challenges. (Should I just fall gracefully after stumbling over them or should I try a ninja leap first and then fall?) These darn things are always in my way. Either empty or with two or three Hot Wheels rolling around inside.

“You have to keep us.  You NEED us.  What are you gonna do? Throw us away? Giant PLASTIC buckets? LOLNO.”

The jars in my cabinet tell me the same dirty stories. Even though I’ve literally *never* needed to use all of them at once… “But what about when that day does come? Where will you put that 1/3 cup of marinara? IN THE TRASH?! Way to utilize that first world privilege, sicko.” 

The eco guilt is real.

Throughout my destashing and minimizing and zero waste endeavors, I’ve focused on clearing out these spaces in earth (and wallet) friendly ways. I now have drawers that open and close freely. Who knew? I have cabinet space. I don’t have to buy Ziplock bags.

But I’ve basically been left with empty shells. The storage equivalent to my kids’sandwich crusts. I could use it for other things in the future, but do I really want to hang onto old sandwich crusts

Um, no, I eat that immediately because I don’t have time to make my own lunch if I want to watch Gilmore Girls reruns during nap time DUH. 

The containers must find new jobs or they’re out of here. Window herb planters, fabric upcycling, reusable shopping bags, rainwater collectors, giftables, etc.

Know thy enemy!

Minimalists, is there anything that has managed to stay under your radar? What things have you had the most trouble with letting go?

14 thoughts on “An Enemy in Disguise. CONTAINERS. 

  1. Clothes. For sure. After having my son, most of my pre-pregnancy clothes no longer fit but I don’t let them go. I keep thinking maybe I’ll fit back into them one day but I really I know they are just taking up space in my closet. One of these days I’m going to bag it all up and donate all of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Girl, it feels SO GOOD to get rid of old clothes. I struggle with it too though. I always think, “If I get rid of this and need it later on, I’ll have to spend money for something I gave away!” A conundrum for certain. Take your time with it, but also remember that destashing 20 items doesn’t mean you’ll one day need to buy 20 more. Even if you do have a need to repurchase, you can do it as a more wise, self-aware person.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m only beginning on my quest towards minimalism (actually in the planning/finding the courage phase). I did go through my books about a year ago and reduced them to 10% of the initial collection (which was so very difficult). I suspect, however, that the most difficult to part with will be anything that I’ve received as a gift.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gifts are hard! I remember getting about a dozen crochet blankets when my first child was born. I kept those things stacked in a closet, completely unused, for years. Purely out of guilt. I found it easier to let them go when I found a good place to donate. Nursing homes, children’s homes, recovery centers, women’s shelters, etc. Find a special purpose for your items, and it will be a continuation of the gift rather than just “getting rid of it.”

      Like

  3. When we minimized years ago, we ended up with baskets and containers leftover and no need for them. 🙂 It’s a great thing to drop off stuff holders at the charity shop!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Either you have too many containers or not enough. Where’s the balance?! I think I’m going to hunt around for some teachers and see if they can use them. Teachers like containers, right? Or is that a lie like “Teachers LOVE mugs!” lol

      Like

  4. This is awesome! We just started the minimalism stuff in 2017 and I’ve already discovered that I have way too many cute baskets, but I’m still needing the ugly plastic totes for now. Mostly for kid clothes, since we still hope to have more and hand them down. But at least our shelves, drawers, & cabinets are looking more empty. That empty space seems to create space in my brain! I hope I get to where I can get rid of even more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

