Laundry and How to Not Do It.

Because Laundry is Lame.png

Over the past few months, I’ve significantly changed my laundry habits for the better.  And I’m not just talking about destashing clothes or only having limited this or that or whatever.  I’m talking about being mindful of my laundry.  Being present with my laundry.

So.  Deep.

Joking aside, these simple things have helped me tremendously, and I want to share.  These are steps I’ve taken to not only reduce the amount of laundry I wash, but to also come to a new appreciation and awareness of what I possess.

Step One.  Assess the Situation

I mean really assess.  I started by keeping a notebook and pen in my laundry room and making note of every load of laundry I washed and dried.  The first step to solving your problem is realizing/admitting you have a problem.

Take an inventory of what you own.  This is where minimalism starts to get really dynamic.  Some people live with two pairs of socks they wash often.  Others have a dozen pairs so they wash less.  Minimalism is whatever you need it to be.  Knowing exactly what you have will make you more intentional in your use.

Ask yourself how you define “dirty clothes.”  You wore a sweater around the house.  Unless you scrubbed toilets, it’s probably not dirty.  You showered and put on PJs.  They’re not dirty.  

Step Two.  Break the Habits.

Let your family members know that things are a’changin.  Talk to your Boo and your kids about how your house defines “dirty” clothes and ask them to be aware of what they toss into the laundry basket.  Hampers are a place for dirty things, not just things you’ve worn.

Have dedicated kitchen rags/towels for the day.  I could own a hundred kitchen towels, and we could use ALL of those suckers in half a day if I didn’t have them on lockdown.  Be hygienic, but conservative.

Reuse when possible.  Not everyone is comfortable with it, but my husband and I share a bath towel each day.  I wear jeans multiple times before washing.  If a cloth napkin doesn’t get used during a meal, leave it there for the next meal.  Again, be conscious of how you define dirty.

Step Three.  Make a Plan.  Stick to the Plan.

Decide how often you want to do laundry.  I had previously been washing whenever the hampers were overflowing, however often that may have been.  I wash once a week now due to managing our usage throughout the week.  Don’t let dirty underpants be the boss of you.

Manage it daily.  You shouldn’t have to wash daily, but you do have to keep an eye on your laundries.  A tshirt left here or there will surely end up in the hamper later on because nobody knows where it came from.  A mystery towel left on the kitchen counter will, of course, end up in the dirty laundry because what if it has e. coli on it!?  Fold it now, put it away now, hang it up now.

Get it done when you want it done.  When laundry day rolls around, the best thing you can do is bang it out ASAP.  You’ll feel like Cinderella in a Maytag commercial, but it’s so worth it when you can spend the next six days (or however long) saying, “LOOK AT ME AND ALL THE CLOTHES I’M NOT WASHING!”

Between destashing the extras, carefully selecting the keepers, and thoughtful usage of what we do have, I’ve halved my laundry.

If you feel like you’re doing laundry all the time, it’s because you are.  It seems like a silly things to take seriously, but I promise you… There is a distinct confidence and peace that comes with knowing you are actively and successfully managing your home and possessions rather than being a slave to them.

Make your material possessions work for you.  Don’t let them make work for you.


I’d love to hear your favorite laundry hacks or your personal routine!

5 thoughts on “Laundry and How to Not Do It.

  1. Love this. I have a house of 4. I wash clothes about twice a week. Put each person’s clothes in a basket after it’s washed and have them fold and put away!!!! I’m raising somebody’s future husband and wife!!! Lolol. They will know how to help keep the house once they leave here!!!! ( At least, that’s my story anyway!!!! 😉😉😉) lolol! Great read! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is great! There is only three of us and you’d think there was 8 of us! Lol! Hey, thanks for you stopping by my blog and following. I appreciate it! And, because you did, I found this awesome post! Hope you visit again soon. I know I’ll be back! Take care! Misty

    Like

  3. Now that the kids are grown and gone laundry isn’t such a chore. Especially because my husband does it! We wash our (limited amount of) clothes about every 5 days and towels, sheets, etc, make up loads about every 10 days. I’m one who will use a towel I just used to dry my hair several times and my bath towel twice. My husband seems to think he gets out of the shower still dirty since he only uses towels once.

    Like

  4. As soon as I saw the title I had to read it 🙂 You have some great suggestions. I have a question, how do you handle the teen that buys his own clothes? My gosh, my son has tons of t-shirts and pants!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for reading!

      Let me preface this by saying I am not yet the parent of teenagers lol. So take it with salt! But when I was a teen, I did my own laundry. It was one of the first “grown up chores” I had. If he’s able to buy it, I don’t see why he can’t care for it also. I think it’s wonderful that he choses to purchase his own items! Taking on the full load (laundry pun!) of responsibility might encourage him to be more selective in his purchasing or choose to own less. I’m not saying I think he’s being wasteful or flippant! Just saying that responsibility tends to beget more responsibility, ya know?

      You can share some of the tips here with him too. Rewearing and so on. You can make it a great selling point by adding in that laundering wears down materials faster and dulls colors. If he’s spending his own cash on it, he’ll likely want to keep it looking nice, right?

      And… you could also mention that consignment stores may pay him for his older or unwanted “nice” clothes. He could even sell the REALLY nice stuff on eBay. It would be a little turn over for him and encourage him to keep his clothes in new condition longer. (as in not washed a billion times a month)

      Participating in donation drives is always a great opportunity to clear out the closet and help someone less fortunate.

      Good luck, fellow momma!

      Like

Leave a Reply

