Plan All The Things

lowcountry hippie.png

I’m a paper-pen-pencil-list type person. If you’re like me, you know exactly what I mean. The office supply aisle is better than the candy aisle. We make lists of lists we’ll make. New notebooks are things of beauty. Ripping into a new package of colored pens or Ticonderoga pencils is akin to Christmas morning.

Making note of things that I’ve done or intend to do helps me immensely in so many areas of my life. I keep a notepad app on my phone to remind myself of blog topics, add to a grocery list (which is written out on paper for the actual shopping), and keep up with some of our activities and appointments.

But there’s just something special.. and effective… about physically writing down goals or chores. No tech device can replace that for me.  So, I’ve decided to take a leap forward from lists.

I’m stepping into the planner life.

All my lists in one book!

cover.png

They have so many pretty designs.  This one called to me.  “Choose ME, Flower Child Wannabe.”

This is The Happy Planner (Classic version) from Me & My Big Ideas.  I am in love.  Like…I almost cried when I walked into the store, and they actually had what I wanted sitting right there on the shelf.  That never happens!

The Happy Planner comes in three sizes.  The BIG planner is 8.5″ x 11″ and would be great for homeschool lesson plans or maybe a student or appointment heavy professional.  The mini is 4.5″ x 7″ and has enough room for chores, appointments, meetups.  It’s also a great size for standard purses or desk drawers.  The Classic is 7.75” x 9.75” and fits in my #mompurse nicely but opens into a perfectly sized spread.

name.png

A pretty page to write your name and contact info!  The graphics in these planners are very Pinterest-y.  Pretty and motivating.

I’ve been trying to find a planner solution for several weeks now.  I studied several different brands and YouTubed reviews endlessly.  Joann had a few really pretty planners and accessories (Color Crush), but nothing with the “it factor.”  Although, the Heidi Swapp accessories were super duper prettiful.  I also very strongly considered starting a bullet journal.

I decided against a bullet journal because…

  • I can’t draw cute titles or straight lines.
  • I freak out at the thought of not being able to add pages into my journal as needed. (I’m a spontaneous and indecisive planner….)
  • I like to plan far in advance and don’t want to have to draw out months and months to plug in future plans.
  • The cost of supplies to achieve my ideal planner would be just as much as a pre-designed planner.
  • Setting it up on my own isn’t something I’d realistically do.

I’ve always used plain notebooks to organize, and I just can’t deal with that style anymore.  I need pre-printed support and pretty, tiny, sticky things.  If it’s left solely up to ME to date and set up a planner, it’ll just never happen.  The half filled notebooks in my drawer can attest to that.  I’ve had success with simple planners before, but I’m SO pumped about this one!  Pages can be added easily, and there are so many accessories, tips, and freebies to be found.

I chose The Happy Planner because…

  • When purchased on sale or with coupons, it works out cheaper than most of the rest.  (lookin’ at you Erin Condren!)
  • Add-ins or Extensions can be added easily.  They slip right in, no need to open the rings at all.
  • The DIY options are endless.  (I’m going to make and add some cardstock pages.)
  • The sticker sets are AMAZING.
  • I can find the brand locally, see it with my own eyes, and bring it home the same day.
binding

The binding rings are actually disks.  The pages slip in and out easily.  I added this page and then removed it to check the sturdiness.  It held up really well!

I purchased this planner and the accessories at Michaels.  (fun fact – I used to work at ACMoore, and Michaels was our biggest competitor!  Sorry, ACMoore!)  The planner itself is originally $39.99, but they’re 50% off this week. (until Jan 14th!)  I also grabbed a pack of folder inserts to hold my receipts, church bulletins, etc until I can jot down all the info into the planner itself.  The folders were $7.99 originally, but I of course had a 40% off one non-sale item coupon.  AND THEN the awesome, helpful lady ringing up my items scanned another coupon for me giving me an extra 25% off the planner.

I got the planner and the folders for less than $20.

LIKE A BOSS.

folder.png

The page to the left is the beginning page of the month.  A place for birthdays, holidays, and goals.  Also a list of “Currently into” topics to list what you’re watching, reading, crafting, planning (HAH), and so on.  The page to the right is one of the folder inserts I added.

I’m still debating on purchasing one of the sticker value packs.  ($19.99 for almost 1,500 stickers. $11.99 with a coupon!)  I really wanted the “Everyday Plans” pack, but apparently everyone else wanted it too because it was sold out.

And for anyone out there thinking “My LAWD, that’s a waste of paper and money!”  Let me say…I feel you.  This planner is my “Treat yo’self” item.  I typically steer clear of things like this because I view them as non-essential and usually opt for a cheaper version.  Hence the stack of ten cent notebooks in our school closet…  Today I decided to live on the edge. I bought an expensive calendar.  Hear me roar!

I also already have plans to make cards from the pretty designs and use the other pages to make recycled paper once I’m done using the planner.

I can’t wait to share all my fabulous planner ideas and DIYs!  I’d love to hear how you make the most of your planner, whatever the style.

I’m. So. Happy.

4 thoughts on “Plan All The Things

  1. Pingback: Ways To Use Your Planner Without Actually Planning | Lowcountry Hippie

  2. Pingback: Stop! It’s Planner Time.  | Lowcountry Hippie

Leave a Reply

