Social Media : What It Is. What It Ain’t.

ristorante

More and more frequently I’m seeing people express a distaste for social media. They seem exhausted and heavily burdened by it.  Emotionally tortured even.

“There’s so much negativity.”

“The comments are always so hateful.”

“It’s full of fake news and graphic, disturbing images.”

“I can hardly stand to look at my Facebook anymore.”

And then there’s me… Wondering how in the world these people haven’t yet figured out how to use the interwebs.

Social media, and the Internet as a whole, is what you make it.

Nobody forces you to open that app and start scrolling. Nobody forces you to Google controversial topics. You don’t get any brownie points for getting the last word in on a snarky comment section. No one says you HAVE to remain friends with cousin Judy even though she Vaguebooks daily and shares disgusting photos.

When did everyone hand over their lives to technology?

Of course, we’re all going to stumble across things that don’t jive with our sensibilities once in a while. But there’s a significant difference in an accidental stumble and an intentional nose dive.

I’m going to tell you a secret.

Get ready. It’s huge.

 

You control what you look at.

 

Scrolling through a Newsfeed of “garbage” and then complaining about it makes no more sense than listening to a song you hate on the radio when all you have to do is… change the station.

You have what you tolerate.

Unfollow, unfriend, block, delete, deactivate. You can get rid of the burdens with a click. (Minimalism spans so many aspects of peaceful living!) Search for uplifting pages, “like” things that make you smile, share a positive story. Be proactive in your own joy and spread a bit of it to others.

My social media pages are full of awesome because I don’t tolerate any of the baloney, and I choose what I DO follow carefully. I will unfollow a friend at the drop of a hat. Just because I knew a person in high school,or even if I know them now, heck, even if we’re friends now, doesn’t mean we have to be friends on social media. I don’t follow news station pages. If I want news, I’ll seek it out intentionally from a direct source. I’m an advocate and supporter of several emotionally weighty causes, but I don’t follow these pages on social media. I have to mentally prepare for reading up on these topics and will do so when I choose to, not when an algorithm is set to pop it up into my life.

YOU are the filter for your social media.

Scrolling through the feeds of some people can honestly be traumatic. Yet, it’s what they’ve chosen to see. What they permit. What they continually accept, day after day.

I encourage you to take hold of this corner of your life. It’s SO simple.

Allow what makes you happy. Don’t allow what doesn’t make you happy.  Facebook is not the hill to die on.

2 thoughts on “Social Media : What It Is. What It Ain’t.

  1. Wow, your blog is so gorgeous and developed! Your pictures are also great, do you take them yourself? I am just starting out with blogging and I saw you followed mine. Thank you so much and if you have any helpful tricks you would want to share I’m all ears!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I honestly just wing it most of the time, hah. I write about whatever I’m feeling truly passionate about or things that improve my life. I usually write out a draft and come back to it several hours later.
      The photos are actually from UnSplash.com! It’s a website with free to use, free to edit photography. I add text with Canva.com.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

