Protein Balls, Breastfeeding Cookies, Breakfast of Champions

eat me.png

If you haven’t already found these things on Pinterest, let me go ahead and enlighten you. These are crazy easy and nom-worthy snacks everyone will love, including your budget. You need to make these. Like, today.

These yummies can be relatively healthy or SUPAH healthy depending on your ingredient choices.  For example, I try to avoid nut butters with extra ingredients (added sugars or oils) to ensure my kids don’t go berserk after eating a mini mound of these things.  I also like to add in some ground chia seeds for a little nutrient boost and use local, raw honey for allergy protection.  The great thing about these goodies is that ALL of the ingredients are either pantry staples or have multiple uses.  If you have a local store that sells bulk items by weight (lucky you), you can save a few dollars by only buying a handful of each of your add-ins.

There are recipes out there, but I prefer to wing it. So here are my instructions for how you can wing it too 😉

You need this.

The basic ingredients are

  • rolled oats
  • nut butter
  • honey

I do about a half a cup of peanut butter and maybe a third of a cup of honey with probably a little over a cup of oats. Add and tweak to get a solid mixture.

I love recipes that aren’t even real recipes.

You can customize your cookies with all sorts of awesomeness.

  • dried fruits
  • nuts
  • seeds
  • chocolate chips
  • cocoa nibs
  • toasted coconut
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla
  • brewer’s yeast for the milky moms
  • whatever you have in the cupboard

Chop or pulse these ingredients in a processor so they’re relatively small but still retain their unique textures.

Now do this.

Toss everything into a large bowl and stir together.  You’re aiming for a spackle consistency. No loose, dry oats sitting in the bowl. No soupy goopiness.

Once you’ve got it all mixed together (and you’ve taste tested one or seven spoonfuls) you can roll into balls, flatten into cookies, or freeze into bar shapes. Lightly oil or wet your hands before handling the mixture. I like to refrigerate mine, but all the ingredients are suitable for storing on the counter. Just keep them covered and relatively un-warm.

I toss a few of these at my kids in the mornings because I CAN’T EVEN when it comes to food preparation first thing in the A.M.. And what kid says no to cookies? (weird ones)  I love to grab one (LOLONE?!LOL) when my sweet tooth starts raging.

I’d love to hear your favorite combos or special ideas for these!

Happy January, y’all!

Leave a Reply

