Two Ingredient DIY “Everything Butter”

TheEverythingButter.png

A goal of mine as an aspiring minimalist and crunchy gal is to be more simplistic with the products I use.  Minimal products with simple ingredients serving multiple purposes.

This “Everything Butter” is my jam.

It’s made with two ingredients, coconut oil and beeswax.  Both items can be found easily and are pretty inexpensive.  Each ingredient also has multiple uses, so there is no waste.  This butter lasts forever and can be used for a multitude of things.

  • A body moisturizer
  • Lip balm
  • Essential oil carrier
  • General “booboo ointment”
  • Frizzy hair control
  • Homemade deodorant base
  • Baby butt cream
  • A quick and easy, made-with-love gift
  • Errthang

I wish I could say I have beautiful photos of my ingredients laid out on a classy wooden cutting board and all that jazz, but I’m not that blogger.  My DIY experiments are…heavily experimental.  This is actually the only thing I’ve ever made that I have measurements for!  Everything else I’ve made involves me side-eyeing my homemade concoctions, flicking in a little more of this or that, and hoping for the best.

But this is so simple.

All you need to do is…wait for it…

Using a double boiler, melt together 1/4 cup of beeswax pellets and one cup of coconut oil. Then let it cool.

You read that right.  Melt.  Cool.  Done.

The beeswax gives the coconut oil just a bit of extra stability and adds some moisture retaining qualities.  It holds as a solid but melts quickly when applied.

It’s impossible to mess up and the tweaks are endless.  If you want a firmer consistency (for example, making it into a deodorant stick or using in a chapstick tube), you can simply add more beeswax.  If you want to add some essential oils, just drop them into the melted mixture.  Add some colored clay or natural powders to make colored lip gloss.  Blend in some arrowroot powder and/or baking soda, and voila, you have basic deodorant.   I like to whip my cooled butter so it’s extra light and fluffy.

I love this stuff! And this is a great DIY for beginners. If you try it, let me know how it goes, how you tweaked it, and what you like to use it for.

#DIYALLTHETHINGS

3 thoughts on “Two Ingredient DIY “Everything Butter”

  1. Love it! I plan on trying this out, it sounds simple and I feel like my skin would love it. Do you have a specific place you buy beeswax from? I’m having a hard time finding no-packaging or zero waste packaging with beeswax… hmm

    Liked by 1 person

    • I get mine from Amazon (organic pellets from Mary Tylor Naturals), but I’m certain there are some no-waste options out there. Kudos to you for that consideration! You could check around for local natural-friendly stores, buy in bulk with friends to lessen the environmental impact of shipping and packaging, seek out a local beekeeper, or ask a fellow DIYer or small business if they’d let you buy a jar full off of them. A few of the local small businesses in my area are more than happy to help others in the “community.” You might also have better luck buying in blocks and grating it yourself. Pellets indubitably need some sort of container, but a block could possibly be purchased without any packaging. Good luck! Let me know what you find!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Natural Alternatives That Are Actually Bunk  | Lowcountry Hippie

Leave a Reply

